I consider Penang street food to be one of the best in the world. The range of choice around the island and across over Butterworth is really just overwhelming. From the Chinese Hokkien cuisine and all the way to the famous Indian Muslim delicacy, the choice is really just endless.

0
Her flight is delay from Langkawi and then she found out we will be stuck in Penang for another 2 hour. 

That is until my girlfriend says that the food at her hometown is better. Yes, there is more choice here in Penang but the taste, according to her, is different. Whereas at Bahau, the taste is simply better and the texture or smell is definitely more authentic. She was saying that they cook it much better. And so does the Coffee.

As a good boyfriend that I am, I simply agree on this matter. Simply because she has good taste towards stuff and she is usually right.

Chance came upon me to visit her hometown during the semester break. She invited me to meet her family and at the same time, brought me around Bahau, Negeri Sembilan. For those that are wondering, I am a bit nervous when meeting them and yes, I do find it awkward at first but it gets better over time.

0-1
The flight delay took about 2 hours of everyone at the departure hall. Additional 30 minutes delay when we board the aeroplane. 

It is a week long visit to Bahau and it begin with a rather long trip from Penang, KL, and all the way to Bahau. But it’s just the beginning of very interesting trip in recent time.

I arrange all the picture that I took into one long post with caption in each photograph. That way it would be easier to view the entire post without bothering to read any poorly written paragraph.

1
Since our flight was delay, my girlfriend family have to wait for another 3 hour before going back to Bahau. The ride from the airport to Bahau is about 2 hour in a half and we arrive around 2am in the morning. 
2
Chin Seik showing off his bow and arrow set. Reminds me of my friends and cousin who used to play this in highschool. I am never much of a fan of static sports such as archery or bowling but I do appreciate the skill require to pull it off nicely. 
3
Grabbing our morning breakfast nearby. I don’t really have much expectation actually. 
4
But I was wrong, the coffee was great and the food was good as well. Wish the cafeteria near my dormitory can serve food like this, or at least the coffee that is. 
5
One of the reason why I gain so much weight in one week is because of they let me try a lot of great tasting food around Bahau. I forgot the Chinese word for this but it is basically Bahau famous Braised Pork Oflal. I rate this in my Top 3 food to eat in Bahau, and of course from those that is famous among the local. 
6
A friend of my girlfriend mum. Saw some great tasting bun and biscuit that is freshly made. 
7
Like daughter, like mother. 
8
I would rate this as my Number 1 food to try in Bahau. I have a very soft spot for tasty sweet cold dessert and this one is really one of the best that I try so far. Its called Wan Toa Lang if I was not mistaken and it consist of Jelly mixed with shaved ice and condensed milk, top off with a dash of lime. 
14
Not done with what we  eat that evening, we went on to try this delightful Tom Yam that is somehow cooked/serve in coconut. Not sure if this is unique to Bahau but the taste is alright. 
13
Coconut Tom Yam.  My stomach is pretty full now, barely able to breath. 
15
After the Tom Yam, they brought me to the famous Roti Canai shop. Again, I forgot the name of the restaurant but its near some clinic. As you can see, there is 3 different Roti Canai which my girlfriend say she find it to be very good. 
16
Her parents met their old acquaintance. 
17
Apparently they were neighbor 2 decades ago.  
18
Roti Canai with ICe-cream. Never thought it taste so good.  
19
The restaurant is just next to the place where my girlfriend and her siblings used to practice their musical instrument. This is her teacher doing some classes on harmonica. 
20
2nd day, and this is our breakfast. The food is good as expected. 
23-3
They say we just going to take a quick breakfast. 
23-2
They ended up showing me around the town area. 
23-1
I dont understand why she is like this. 
23
We discuss something about people wealth and house design. The house looks unique though. 
22
We are suppose to be visiting a temple here but the gate is closed. We went out to take a picture of the panorama view. Can’t see much actually. 
21
The grass is tall. 
24
This tree is taller. 
25
Okay, she is shorter. 
26
On our way to an abandoned golf park. 
27
Another interesting stuff to take picture off. 
28
Lembu Bahau. 
28-1
The golf coursed used to be owned by a Korean If I was not mistaken but it was left like this for no reason. (according to a local source) 
28-2
I think we can make something out of this. 
29-2
The guard dog. 

 

29-1
The brought some leftover to feed the dog. Such well mannered one as well. 

 

33
Then they brought me to this lovely spot. Good place to take portrait pictures I think. 
34
The squad for the day. 
34-1
First group photo of the day. 
34-2
Everyone is hungry. So we are going back home to eat some lovely home made food. 
34-3
Nope, cancel that, we are going to Rompin. (I think its Rompin or was it Kuala Pilah) 
34-4
This is their grandmother house yard. It is now rented by a movie director who doesnt seems to live there as much as they thought. 
34-5
So sad. 😦
34-6
Bye Bye… 😦 

 

35
Trying out Chin Seik new bow set.
35-1
The bow is bigger than her arms. 
35-2
Chin Seik admiring his new hairstyle. 

 

36
On our way to visit Ladang Gedis. 
37
Can’t remember what Silo is this for. Was it grain or something. Not sure. 
38
This is Ah Tong best pose. 
39
She brought the grass all the way until evening. 
40
SO cute. 
41
An old english building build by the British owner from many decades ago. 
41-1
Another group photo. 
42
Ah Tong told me not to upload this pictures online or else she will lose her image. 
42-1
Another group photo. 
44
Then somehow Chin Seik suggest that we should visit Roti Abdul. Its one of the oldest bread maker from Bahau that has been supplying delicious bread around the area for years. 
43
Found the Roti Abdul factory, but we can’t find the entrance. 
45
Found it. 
46
I love the smell of a bakery, and this is even more pleasing to my nose as the entire factory made bread and flavor filled bun like those gardenia. Roti Abdul buns and bread are cheap and tasty by the way. The entire factory is clean as well. 
47
Enjoying the scene while making some joke about something and eating some Roti Abdul. 
48
Ah Tong was showing her family palm estate area. She even told us how she used to play and help her family picking up the palm fruits into the lorry. 
48-1
No car was harm in the making of this picture. 
49
Happy kids. 
49-1
Another group photo. 
51
My girlfriend is a little kid on the inside. 
50
The last group photo of the day. 

Eventhough my girlfriend show me around Bahau, her family was actually was very eager to let me try many great different food around Bahau. So every night they brought me to many different places which is great. Never felt hungry even for the next few weeks.

52
I had assignment to settle that week. But we are having so much activities as well. 
53
For Orang Semenanjung, 1 hour ride is actually very close. 
55
A Char Kuey Teow that is made by using wood and flaming charcoal. 
56-1
That smile. 
56
The Char Kuey Teow taste good. But I was pretty full that time. 
54
Check it out, the flaming wooden stove. 
57
Her father showing me the places and building around the area. 
58
This is on top of some hill. The temple seems to be working on something even though its late at night. 
59-1
Chinese Architecture. 
59
That color contrast. 

I did visit Kuala Lumpur that week. For those who lives in Peninsular Malaysia, their understanding between near and far is way different compare to us in Borneo, especially for me who have been living in a small island for less than a decade. For my girlfriend, she thinks from Bahau to Kuala Lumpur is okay, and quiet near. (it’s more than 8 hour trip).

DSC_0220.jpg
She made breakfast for me. Good effort though from her side. I want more. 
60
Going to the bus station. 
61
Those siblings were so excited. 
61-1
Waving to her mother face. 
62
And we arrive at the Seremban KTM train station.  Its an hour bus ride. 
63
Going up. 
64
Going down. 
65
The morning passenger to Kuala Lumpur. 
65-1
No seat for me. 
65-2
Got a seat then we found our fellow classmate from Politeknik Port Dickson. 
66
The kid was crying so we make some stupid face. 
67
I think she call her friend to inform him that we have arrive in KL Central. 
68-1
I purposely try to keep my stomach flat for this picture. 
68-2
Expensive priced food doesn’t make for a great tasting food. 
70
We took our lunch just next to the PAM Centre. 
71
Just look at the color palette and detailing. 
72
That smile. 
69
We grab a coffee at KLCC. The machiato was great. 
68
Went to Kinokuniya and bought a book by Stuart Franklin on Photojournalism. 
74
Its a rainy evening. 
76
Highlight of the day. Luckily I didn’t insist on getting one for myself, even with 4 of us we couldn’t finish the drink. 

Our highlight of the week was supposed to be a hiking trip to Bukit Broga. They say it is very near (1-2 hour trip is actually very ‘dekat’ to them). Instead since we arrive there a bit late with the sun high up on top of us, we decided to just visit the temple with Sun Wukong and enjoy ourselves.

77
Our breakfast for the day. Not the best and the coffee was so-so only. 
78
It’s only few weeks ago that Dota2 announced a new hero call the Monkey king. 
80
Going into the temple. 
79
The monkey king is still looking for something. 
81
I forgot what she is called. 
86
Sama. 
85
I just love the contrast. 
84
Orphaned kid. 
83
Long. 
82
I forgot what is the story for this. 
88
Happy kid. 
87
Chin Wei showing the double peace sign. 
89
Wu Kong is still looking for something. 
90
The sibling. 
91
This is not Sabah. 
92
We found a great tasting coconut shake along the way. 
93
They have a regular customer it seems. 
94
After having our lunch, we decided to visit this housing estate nearby where the houses could reach million of ringgit. Its a gated development complete with a clubhouse. 
95
The show unit is fully furnished and expensive looking. Inspired by european style but I dont really like the design. 

The last day before going back was a bit relaxing, I just finished submitted my assignment and packing my stuff only took a short time to settle. We did manage to try her sister breakfast set before taking off to the airport.

96
She is showing off her brand new shoes that she never got to wear, YET. 
97
At the airport chilling with the Family Mart Matcha Ice-cream. 
98
That double chin of mine. 75kg by this time. 
99
That double cap style of her. 

So I got back home to my room with a full stomach. My girlfriend family has been extremely friendly and thoughtful for the entire week. It’s just that I wish I could be more nicer and less awkward during my next visit. Of course, there is a lot of other stuff to visit as well.

Next time, I gonna bring my Seagull and maybe my OM-1n.

 

One thought on “MID-SEM BREAK 2017 | BAHAU

Leave a Reply

