As it has always been, New Year celebration is pretty much the same each year with the only difference is whether you gonna celebrate it alone or with a random bunch of people, plus the economy outlook in Malaysia means that the fireworks won’t be as grand as the previous years.

I am currently writing this during my exam week. There is only one paper left and the gap in between allow me to focus on other stuff such as my design for a Timber design competition and other miscellaneous pending task that I should had finished last year.

   If anyone wondering how I celebrate my New Year this time, it’s by being stuck in a UBER car for 1 hour and a half. We still manage to catch the firework though.

100
The 1 hour and half worth of wait just to watch the fireworks at Queensbay mall. 

   As for 2016, there has been a lot of realization and newly acquired responsibilities. I realized that if I were to be successful in the next few years, I need to change a lot in terms of my habit, sleeping late is certainly something that I want to reduce this year and so does keeping up with my fitness level. I also happen to be in relationship with a certain someone, which as sudden as it seems, was probably one of the best thing to happen in my life.

   Photography wise, I believe I did became a little bit mature in approaching a story. There was a time before where I think the highlight on my journey in photography is by being able to present my work to a huge crowd of people. It’s an egoistic dream of course but I believe I had pass that phase last year, photography has always been about the content and story but less on the photographer.

   And 2016 has also been a sad year for me as 2 of my main camera malfunction with the Ricoh GR suffer from the same lens mechanism error and the Sony a900 with its focusing motor problem. With my restricted student budget, I don’t think it is worth to get both of the camera repaired. So currently I am thinking of my future working setup and the camera will need to be well equipped than my Nikon D60. Some of the candidates are the Sony a600 and probably a Nikon D5500. Then again, maybe I just get a new lens instead or go fully analog with my Olympus OM-1.

As for some of my new year resolution;

  • Try to update my blog and instagram more.
  • Curate my online work properly.
  • Read more.
  • Be more considerate.
  • Sleep less in a good way.
102
That random photo outing with friends. 

   Eitherway, 2017 is the year where I will try to focus on the thing that are important to me the most. There has been time where I was distracted and somehow lose my sight on it. It should be another great year ahead with many stuff to explore and appreciate. Especially with my Rusa.

Onward to 2017.

 

 

Leave a Reply

