For those who know me personally, I am probably best described as that annoying bastard with a camera (probably). Clicking and snapping picture in random situation, like when its raining heavily and suddenly someone ran across the street without any umbrella!, its going to look nice on frame and guess who will be missing from the group?.

Taking picture has became a second nature for me and what started as an interest has somehow turn into a habit; an addictive one at that. Mind you, I started ‘photography’ when I got my first smartphone in high school and that was more than 9 years ago.  Within this so called ‘journey’ in photography, the one thing that has always been loyal by my side is non other than my beloved camera. After all, what is a photographer without a camera?, an eyewitness?.

TPB 009
Camera is to be brought to for an adventure for the sake of happy memories.

Camera is also the reason for a photographer excuses in many situation; for it might as well be called their source of superpower.

“What are you doing here?”
“I am a photographer Sir!” as you wave your Leica around
“Okay” followed by a slow thumbs up.

“Can I take your picture?” as you nudge your Nikkor lens slightly.
“Sure, why not?”

“Can you let me in?” while slowly raising your white luscious leather covered L lenses camera.
“Sure, just enjoy yourself” as the bouncer open the door for you. Sounds of some techno song struck through your ears. 

Of course, none of the dialogue is true. It probably happen to someone but its plausible at most. Having a camera by your side is like having a free passport to anywhere, you will never be short of excuses if you are clever enough. After all, the camera is your sidekick or in some cases, your Wingman.

Camera is a companion that most photographer choose and consider as a set of tools. You can liken it to a knife that the chef would choose to make the right cut or a soldier who choose which gun caliber suits best for a situation. Camera is a tool for the professional where its uses can be very specific rather than subjective.

RIC RE 001
I choose  Ricoh GR as my main travel camera mainly because of the size and the ability to be charged using powerbank. Have I ever mention that the 28mm lens is very good?.

   I personally have 6 different camera, each have a rather different use as I see fit. From a Ricoh GR for a casual day-to-day shooting to a Sony A90 for a rather serious attempt or maybe vise versa . I also use film camera for a certain photography project that I am currently working on. The reason for using a film camera has more to do with how using the camera alter my usual approach to my subject than the actual final output from the film camera.

“If you want to change your photographs, you need to change cameras. Changing cameras means that your photographs will change. A really good camera has something I suppose you might describe as its own distinctive aura.” 

– Nobuyoshi Araki

 

We photographer need camera and the need varies depending on our intention. Of course, an artist never brag about the brush that they are using but they still going to have a set of it to make a painting. To imagine how this actually work, think about Hajime Kimura works in color or Henri Cartier Bresson using the large format camera, can’t really imagine how their picture would be right?. Specific demand require specific camera, so choose the right partner.

Still, everything that I mention here doesn’t justify the urge to get all the best camera in the world (My dream camera is the Pentax 645D). You only get what you need. Like someone I met few years ago said, photography is a bit like marriage, you need to balance everything considerately or risk losing everything.

End of rant.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

