Exam is done and home here I come!.

Its been a long day of flight for me and I just finished organizing my workdesk for little bit. I guess the right thing to do now is either to read a few pages of Haruki Murakami or finish this blogpost which has been in draft since last year. (pun intended)

Looking back at the stuff that I manage to do last year, I would have to say that it’s been another great year. Continuing my study is perhaps one of the major highlight of the year because I am leaving a rather comfortable job as a Junior Architectural Designer. It’s been a great 3 year stints at the firm but I foresee a rather bleak future where I am unable to reach my true potential as a mature professional.

At the start of the New Year, my former mentor, Steven Lee post up a rather interesting request to all his photography friend. The request were rather simple where everyone post up their own definition of photography along with their Favorite photograph that define their understanding or style of photography over the year. This simple question has a really strong effect on me at that time since I will busy with my study for the next few years, where would my photography work would go?, or will I be able to retain the same curiosity and vision to produce a great series of work in the future?.

“Photography started out as an excuse for me to go out and getting away from my family and still is one of my favorite excuse to stay late while hanging out with my friends. Over the years, this excuse turn into a routine that has became part of my life where the act of capturing a ‘great’ photograph become more as an act of preserving thoughts and memory.

Few years ago, the worlds seems big with Photography but now my work has become much narrow in perspective and I am slowly turning into a selfish photographer that only concern with my own fetish of my surrounding. Certainly, I consider myself as a good photographer, just not a great one.” – Kelvin Ah Kian

That was the same comment that I post to Steven on what photography means to me. There is probably a sense of ego and humility in my post but being honest is all I had for it. For those who had been following me on facebook over the years, It seems that I have nothing new worth showing up  on facebook. True but not because of artist block or anything, I just have been very selective on what to show and what not.

So for 2016, I have my own resolution that hopefully will allow me to be better as a photographer and much more focused on my interest, especially on student lifestyle or maybe landscape. Part of the thing that I will focus on for the rest of they year is probably as following;

GET BACK TO THE FUNDAMENTAL OF PHOTOGRAPHY

Philip Chong (one of my earliest online mentor) always stress before that any amateur photographer should master the true basic fundamental of photography which consist of 5 point (if I was not mistaken) Shutter, ISO, Aperture, Composition, and probably type of lenses?. But that is not the point, the rule is that once you have master all this point, understanding other photography genre is easy and the same thing apply when you try apply a certain idea or concept into your work. Surely since my Ricoh GR has been performing well on most situation, my photography skills has been a bit dull compare to the time when I use my old Nikon.

So I am going to refresh myself by going through some photobooks by Henri Cartier Bresson, a hero that I sought after, before I hit the shorelines around the Island in the next few months (Labuan or Penang).
CA002

The Ultimate camera.

REPLACE MY COMPANION FOR THE YEAR

I am a fan of football.

Not a fanatic, just a fan, especially on Arsenal FC, the current leading team for the Premier League 2015/2016. Similar to football, you need to replace or add someone into your team every season since, well, football technical strategy reason of course.

I believe I have a decent amount of gear to enjoy with to go through the next few years with my personal project but ever since one of my player camera has died on me, I have been thinking of getting something much more robust that suits my hectic student lifestyle. There are thousand of option but thanks to my limited student budget, I could only get a certain few. Surely the medical repair cost for the camera going to cost a ton so why not spend it on a brand new camera?.

The criteria should be align with my main objective for the year, which is getting ‘back to basic’ so I believe getting a film analog camera should be great. I have been planning to replace my Yaschica TLR since it suffer from a rather serious haze on the lens element but somehow getting a compact camera or an SLR camera seems a better choice since it is much more flexible to use.

CONCLUSION

Since this was written during my semester break, I will probably have a few stuff that I need to get done with before I can enjoy the freedom of roaming around the Island. Surely this year seems to be heading towards another great year and with a few photography festival that I plan to attend in the coming month, I am sure I could learn more in the coming years.

Till then, Gong Xi Fa Cai.

 

Leave a Reply

