Few months ago, I finally finished a short photography project of mine where I have been exploring the use of old photograph with a new.

It started during my session with Exposure+ workshop program last year where I present a series of off-shore oil and gas worker in a ‘Diptych’ format. The idea was to show a contrast between the worker and its surrounding. During the early part of the workshop, I intent to capture it from a wider perspective but the main objective is somehow lost due to the subject size within the frame. I have been through some discussion with Steven Lee (my mentor for Exposure+) and we finally found a way to project the idea visually and that is through ‘Diptych’. In my opinion, there is probably a better way to use ‘Diptych’ format since it allow the viewer to subconsciously comparing the difference between the two photograph, similar to how photograph that is placed side by side on a photobook pages.
0001

 Earlier attempt in documenting the off-shore worker in public spaces around Labuan. It use similar format but different concept. Steven and I have this feeling that there is something off with the way the project being shown in this format.

‘Diptych’ is nothing new in the history of Photography but I always thought that the idea can be use on a different context. ‘Between two sons’ was initially started after a discussion with Zhuang Wu Bin, a renowned photographer and curator in South East Asia, during his workshop in early 2014. He gave his thought on my idea and point out the possible flaw of my approach. It prove beneficial as always and it took me a few weeks before I began taking pictures for the series. Basically its because of procrastination and nothing less.

10417633_1492285394318865_3967842455661001043_nSome of the material that I brought during my workshop with Zhuang Wu Bin at Kota Kinabalu last year.

‘Between two sons’ was something that I had always wanted to do for a photography project, something that is personal and yet subtle in terms of visual presentation. It is used to show my relationship with my father and how our difference came to be due to the fact that we grow up from an entirely different era and circumstances. My relationship with my father is in fact great but this project is to show the little argument that we had throughout the year and the irony of the said argument. Perhaps the initial concept was to show the conflict of our relationship but it is in fact a subtle message of my love to my father. Our difference is in fact counterweight by our similarities.

0007r

One of the few photograph from ‘Between two sons’.

Throughout the project period, all the photo of me was not a self-portrait but actually taken by my little brother or a colleague who happen to be with me for the photograph. There is something interesting from this process where despite me, the photographer, became a subject of my own idealogy, taken by other photographer, to conceive a narrative which is this project. The relationship is a peculiar one indeed and it reminds me of the discussion that we had at Chiang Mai on what makes a Photographer Photographer. The picture was not taken by me but do I have the right to claim the right for the entire series?. Perhaps the discussion could be decided on court (refering to the copyright issue between a monkey and some wildlife photographer) but I would rather not.

0001 0002

My photographer on numerous session. Brought the tripod along but I found that having a human holding the camera is much more easier/quicker to execute.

I had received numerous comment and feedback after having it posted on one of Zhuang Wu Bin blog. The feedback from my audience on facebook can be categorize into humorous, interesting, and clever. Some people found it to be funny since our looks are similar (i am his son for god sake) and the fact that even at this age, I haven’t been able to settle with a decent relationship with the opposite sex. ‘Interesting’ is often mentioned for the fact comparing two different picture can somehow create an interesting visual narrative. ‘Clever’ was used for people to give me some credit on doing something that has never been done before (it’s not true, there is nothing new with Diptych and in fact the format is widely use in magazine and photobook).

Completing the project was a relief, it means I finally been able to conceive a photography project that I truly satisfied with the output. I am sure it can be better in many way but for now, the work stands for itself. I did plan to have it exhibit in some way but the scale is to small and most likely work better in a group exhibition of a similar theme.

Here I am sitting in my dorm room wishing for the Malaysia currency to bounce back so I could finally settle my long overdue Photography website of mine.

Leave a Reply

