Earlier last month at the end of June, I decided to join a friend back to his home village to celebrate the Harvest Festival. Being a Sino Kadazan, I never been to a longhouse before but my friend assure me that although the longhouse nowadays are made from a much more contemporary material, the culture has pretty much remain the same.

SONY DSC
The town at Limbang is busy with people preparing for the Harvest festival tomorrow.

We took the ferry from Labuan and arrive at the Limbang Jetty in the next few hours. The ride was smooth while the immigration system is pretty efficient as well. Limbang is part of Sarawak therefore its jurisdiction is different compare to those from Peninsular Malaysia and Sabah.

The town however; although small, is pretty busy with people stocking all the necessary item for a feast. A longhouse usually hold at least 10 family but its not uncommon for some longhouse to have at least 50 family in a single row. My friend brought his family back to the village for the holiday and as usual, we will bring our own share of the celebration by buying liquor and meats.

SONY DSC
A pig head that my friend brought back for the barbeque.

After we were done with the shopping, the next agenda of the day is to visit their ancestor graveyard which is meant to pay their respect and praying for their blessing for the upcoming festival. It is a pretty common practice for most races in Malaysia.

SONY DSC
A Christian Cemetery
SONY DSC
Paying their respect for the elder. My friend grandfather who passed away few years ago.

The journey back to the village took us about 1 hour and half despite our aggressive driving. There is no proper asphalt road that connects the village with the main road but according to my friend, the road is in a much better condition than it was few years ago, plus there is electricity grid throughout the area.

SONY DSC
4WD vehicle is a standard choice for the people around the area. We are stopping by at my friend family orchard before continuing our ride back to the village.

The longhouse is actually really long. Its similar to the British terrace house design with a long corridor or ‘ruai’ connecting the house. The ‘ruai’ is consider as a public area where kids and elders usually hang out. I didn’t spent much time exploring outside the longhouse since the family has been very welcoming ever since I got there. Everyone is pumped up for tomorrow and preparation is hasten towards midnight.

SONY DSC
Part of the ‘Ruai’. Its big enough for the kids to play and surely big enough to hold hundreds of people celebrating the harvest festival.
SONY DSC
The backyard of the longhouse. Store were built to keep farming equipment away from the longhouse.

Iban people are known for being fond with alcoholic drinks and true to their reputation, we were serve with some rice wine and pork barbecue to freshen our day. I couldn’t remember much after that day since I haven’t been sober for the next few days. Drinks were serve like there was no tomorrow but falling asleep was pretty easy.

SONY DSC
Alcohol can do wonder to people.
SONY DSC
A family gathering.

The next morning I woke up with a terrible hangover. My mouth was dry and my stomach was hungry but that is pretty much what we do for the next few days; drink, eat, and sleep. Its holiday and many of the family relatives came back for the week to celebrate the festive occasion where having a great time being their main objective.

SONY DSC
Barbecue pork meat and a few shots of whiskey.
SONY DSC
Serves up!
SONY DSC
Again, Alcohol could do wonder and at a time like this I wish I was not that drunk to hold the camera properly.

Later on that day, I did got the time to explore some part of the village. The village is surround by dense forest with a river passing through in between. Back then, people of the village have to rely on the river as their main transportation method but ever since the road was built, it hasn’t been used much due to safety and convenience.

SONY DSC
Gathering some edible palm from nearby tree for tonight dinner. 
SONY DSC
The scenery around the area. 

My original intention to join my friend back for a visit is actually to have a look at their old wooden longhouse structure, which remain pretty much as it is despite being in ruin for a long time. My friend uncle brought me to the place and being drunk as hell, the three of us make a journey through the forest, barefoot.

SONY DSC
Entrance to the old longhouse.
SONY DSC
The inside of the longhouse with the top space being used as a place to keep harvested rice. Similar to how Kadazan people used to keep their rice.
SONY DSC
Drunk as hell. To be honest, I didnt remember how we walk out from that place.

The highlight of the harvest festival would be during midnight where blessing and prayers are given throughout the longhouse. Again, I don’t really remember how the night goes, my camera however are still by my side and somehow I manage to even change my memory card. Looking through the picture do made me realize that festive event should be fun for everyone while preserving our own culture and identity. The night last until dawn with people tossing their glass and laughing at each other jokes. During the last day of my stay there, they even hired a local band to entertain the people with everyone joining in for the dance.

A truly festive season that I truly enjoy which I wish I was not that drunk during my entire stay.

SONY DSC
Sarawak national flag.
SONY DSC
Before the praying session start. I didn’t ask about the ceremony in detail though.
SONY DSC
The younger people enjoying the drinks and music.
SONY DSC
DANCE, DANCE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

